Te Tiriti o Waitangi - Horahora Kakahu

Horahora Kakahu was an early historic reserve. It was at this island pa that the Proclamation of British Sovereignty over the Middle (now South) Island was made on 17th June 1840 by Major Bunbury, 80th Regiment, and Captain Nias, of HMS Herald. Major Bunbury's report to Governor Hobson noted: 'The Marines were landed, and the Union Jack hoisted on the Horikaka Pa under a salute of 21 guns. The yards were also manned, and three cheers were given.'

The Treaty of Waitangi was signed on nine separate sheets by more than 500 Māori, Sheet 7, The Herald (Bunbury) sheet was where nine Ngāti Toa and one Rangitane chief signed the Treaty in Port Underwood. The chiefs were Pūkeko, Te Kanai (Te Kanae), Te Wi (Mātene Te Whiwhi/Riwai Matene), Māui Pu, Eka Hare, Puke, Nohorua, and Waiti (Te Whāiti). Nohorua also made his son in law Joseph Toms sign the Treaty, so if there were any ramifications from the signing, he too was to blame. 

Come and join us on a hikoi through the Port Underwood to Horahora Kakahu to celebrate Ngati Toa!

Further programme to follow in May 2018.

Monthly Regular Meetings

Kaumātua Committee - Monthly Meetings are held in the Old Wharekai, Takapūwāhia Marae at 10:00am on the 1st Tuesday of each Month

Takapūwāhia Marae Committee - Monthly Meetings are held at Takapūwāhia Marae at 6:00pm on the 2nd Tuesday of each Month

Te Rūnanga o Toa Rangatira Board - Monthly Meetings are held in the Old Wharekai, Takapūwāhia Marae at 1:00pm on the 3rd Thursday of each Month

Hongoeka Marae Committee - Monthly Meetings are held at Hongoeka Marae at 7:00pm on the 3rd Monday of each Month